The Anxious Morning
The Anxious Morning
197. I Don't Panic Much Anymore But ....
5
0:00
-5:00

197. I Don't Panic Much Anymore But ....

First ask why you don't panic that much. There are clues there.
5

Many members of this community that struggle with panic attacks at some point start to worry that they may have some other problem. Most often this “other problem” that they worry about is GAD. Generalized Anxiety Disorder. They often worry that they either have GAD as a new problem, or always had it and were somehow misdiagnosed. This then means that they must worry that they’ve been doing recovery “wrong” so far, and may never get better because … GAD.

This worry often pops up when you’re not experiencing panic all that often any longer, but are still worried all day long about how you feel. You don’t panic, but you also just feel anxious all the time, you don’t know why, and you are definitely focused on it and concerned about what it might mean. Note that this is different from the GAD sufferer who has never struggled with regular panic attacks. I’ve talked about that person in other posts and especially in episode 148 of The Anxious Truth podcast.

If you find that you are not experiencing panic all that often any longer, but you’re still worried about how you feel, ask yourself why you aren’t experiencing panic any longer. Here’s a hint. The second part of my statement - “you’re still worried about how you feel” - is a clue.

Do you not panic much any more because you’re not afraid to panic, or because you’ve found creative ways to keep it from happening? When you learn to not be afraid any more, the thing where you worry about how you feel tends to fade away. But you just learn how to not panic, that worry and excessive inward focus tends to remain in place because you must remain on alert and monitoring for the presence of dangerous anxiety, thoughts, and symptoms that are too much or must indicate some problem.

I have days where I feel anxious. This happens because I am human. When I have those days, or even a stretch of days like that, I do not wonder if I have suddenly developed GAD because I am anxious without panic. I am just anxious because sometimes that happens to people. I may be stressed or overworked or dealing with some personal issues, or whatever. I’m just anxious. There is no deeper meaning and there is no serious concern about it being there, what it might mean, or that it may never go away.


If you’d like more interaction with me and deeper discussion, you might consider taking advantage of the subscriber-only content I produce on Instagram. It’s for a smaller audience, so usually more in-depth and with more interaction.


How do I do this? I do this because I’m not afraid of how I feel any more. I’m not in any way afraid to be anxious or to panic. My relationship to my own body, thoughts, emotions, and even with anxiety and fear are more normal and healthy now. I don’t worry about how I feel because I’ve learned that I don’t have to worry about it any more. I learned that by choosing to panic intentionally again and again, or to at least be 100% willing to panic again and again. I learned that by allowing it, surrendering, and still winding up OK time after time. And what do you know, this also means that I rarely panic any more.

See where this is going? Before you start digging in and trying to figure this out by throwing terms like GAD or “never recover” into the mix, ask yourself what’s different now? Why are you no longer experiencing panic? Have you gotten really good at panic and fear, or have you gotten really good at learning how to not let them happen? Those are two VERY different things. The answers to this question tend to lie in avoidances. If you’re not sure which one you are, sit down and write yourself a list of things that you still “can’t do” or are afraid to do because they might be too much for you. If that list has stuff on it that a “normal” person would do without even thinking about it (i.e. not skydiving or cliff jumping), then you probably have your answer.

And for the record, people with panic disorder, agoraphobia, health anxiety and OCD are also often anxious all the time too.

Do not make the mistake of thinking that anxiety without panic automatically equals a new diagnosis or new special meaning. It might, but that does not need to be your first stop. First, think about what you’ve just read or heard. It might make a difference for you.


Have you listened to this week’s episode of The Anxious Truth podcast? Check it out out on Apple Podcasts, Spotify, Google Podcasts, Amazon Music, or my website and YouTube channel.

5 Comments
The Anxious Morning
The Anxious Morning
Wake up every morning to a hot cup of anxiety support, empowerment, education, and inspiration in your inbox. The Anxious Morning is written and recorded by Drew Linsalata.